Posted by: zhangli0429 | June 6, 2009

Heroes I Admire Most

1. Zhang Chenhe and Zhao Fengyin

      Zhang Chenhe is my father and Zhao Fengyin is my mother. Though they’re not famous and few people know who they are, they are great heroes in my heart. They brought me to this world and they give me unconditional  love and the best they are capable to give.

They set a good example for me. They teach me to be unselfish, generous, caring, honest, brave,sacraficing and never give in.

Thank you for being strict with me when I was young because I learnt to be a person of principles;

Thank you for being supportive when I become an adult because I know I can pursue a life I want to lead without being judged and you are always there for me when I get tired or hurt from the outside world.

Thank you for being my dad and my mom and give me the best you can and I’m really really proud of you.

2. Zhou Enlai

Zhou Enlai

Reputation in popular stories

During a time when news could not be communicated as easily as today through internet and television, much weight is put on hear-say which cannot be verified. It is widely believed that at the Geneva Conference of 1954 U.S. Secretary of State John Foster Dulles snubbed Zhou by publicly brushing past his outstretched hand. Whether the incident actually happened or not, President Nixon clearly believed that it had. Therefore, when he descended from Air Force One in Beijing on his visit to China, he ostentatiously and respectfully held out his hand to Zhou, who appreciated the symbolism. [9]

The clash with Russia created a number of these stories. One story had it that Zhou met Premier Nikita Khrushchev outside a meeting hall where each had denounced the other. Khrushchev, who was said to be jealous of Zhou’s cosmopolitan skills, remarked to Zhou “it’s interesting, isn’t it. I’m of working class origin while your family were landlords.” Zhou quickly replied “Yes, and we each betrayed our class!” [10]

Another such account had it that at another such encounter Khrushchev shook Zhou’s hand, then pulled out his handkerchief and wiped his hands. Zhou then pulled out his handkerchief, wiped his hands, and put the handkerchief in the nearest wastebasket. [11] This is especially interesting since apparently Richard Nixon told a similar story. He recalled that in 1954 Undersecretary of State, Walter B. Smith did not want to “break… discipline” but also did not want to slight the Chinese blatantly. Therefore, Smith held a cup of coffee in his right hand when shaking hands with Zhou. Zhou took out a white handkerchief, wiped his hand and threw the handkerchief into the garbage.

When asked for his assessment of the 1789 French Revolution, he is remembered for saying, “It is too early to say.”[12].

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Zhou_Enlai

3. Deng Xiaoping

DengXiaoping

Famous Deng Xiaoping quotations

  1. 不管黑猫白猫,能捉老鼠就是好猫. Translation: It does not matter whether the cat is black or white; as long as it catches the mouse, it is a good cat. (Commenting on the whether China should turn to capitalism or remain strictly in adherence with the economic ideologies of communism)
  2. 摸着石頭過河. Translation: wading across a river by feeling the rocks. (referring to the fact that China had absolutely no experience with modern capitalism)
  3. “Vietnam is a hooligan, we must teach them a lesson.” (On December 1978, in a visit several Southeast Asia countries, only a few months before The third Sino-Vietnam war,he said an unforgettable quote while being live on China television network)
  4. 小朋友不聴話,該打打屁股了. Translation: It’s time to smack the bottom of unruly little children. (While talking to president Jimmy Carter during his brief visit to the United States, thereby informing the USA that China was ready to go to war with Vietnam.)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Deng_Xiaoping

4. Theodore Roosevelt

Theodore_Roosevelt

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Theodore_Roosevelt

5. Mother Teresa

MotherTeresa

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mother_Teresa


Leave a comment

Categories